Reading Women — 5 Books by Women That Have Topped My Reading List This Year

Vijayalakshmi Devanathan
5 min readJun 2, 2023

--

Towards the end of 2022, after carefully analyzing my reading habits, I realized that there was a significant lack of literature by women in my life. Since then, I have made it a point to actively seek out books by women and gender minorities from diverse backgrounds to add to my reading list. This became my goal for 2023. Unfortunately, I’ve been in a major reading slump for the past couple of years, and it has been a struggle to get back on track.

However, I am looking forward to picking up where I left off and reading as much as I can, as quickly as I can. While this may seem like a daunting task on the surface, books have always provided solace to me during challenging times.

Almost halfway into the year, I now find myself with a roster of exceptional women writers who have helped pull me out of what I consider to be one of the darkest periods in my life. Naturally, I want to share this joy with the world.

That brings us here — my attempt to express my love for these books that have truly transformed my perspective in the past few months. Here are five books by women that helped me get out of my slump:

Persepolis

by Marjane Satrapi

Marjane Satrapi

Persepolis started out as a venture solely to appease the vengeful Gods of academia. What was part of my university reading list soon became a book I hold very close to my heart.

Marjane Satrapi, both the author and protagonist of Persepolis, creates with the kind of knowing precocity that very few posses. I have always wondered why Persepolis was included in every reading list ever created, and after reading the graphic novel, I finally understand why. Not only is it hilarious, witty and heart-wrenching, but it is also perfect for anyone looking for a quick yet meaningful read.

All this said and done, I am yet to find a book that will fill the void Persepolis left in my heart when I reluctantly put it down so consider yourself warned.

Just Kids

by Patti Smith

Patti Smith

Patti Smith dons many hats and this book swept me off my feet.

Just Kids made me nostalgic for places, people and experiences that were not my own. I found myself living her life — talking, walking and eating the way she did. Her joy was my joy and her pain, mine. I found myself rooting for her and finding delight in her rendezvous with household names I grew up with.

Just Kids is a memoir about Patti Smith and her relationship with photographer and artiste Robert Mapplethorpe and so much more.

This is a gem that is tucked away in plain sight, and your life will be better for it once it is finally discovered.

I’m Glad My Mom Died

by Jennette McCurdy

Jennette McCurdy

Being away from home and having lived in a dysfunctional household for a majority of my life, it was quite easy for me to pick up I’m Glad My Mom Died by iCarly star Jennette McCurdy. I had extremely high hopes for the book and was not in the least bit disappointed.

I read I’m Glad My Mom Died cover to cover in a couple of days and found myself a blubbering, snotty mess on the bedroom floor afterward.

The book reveals the nasty underbelly of fame, the sacrifices Jennette McCurdy had to make in order to “make it” as a child actor, and the ramifications of being brought up by a narcissistic, overbearing parent.

If you are someone who is looking for a great piece of non-fiction that will leave you spellbound for a long time after, I’m Glad My Mom Died is the book for you.

Yellowface

by R. F. Kuang

R. F. Kuang

There is a lot to be said about R. F. Kuang as a writer, and this modest list or any words of adulation that I have to offer will never measure up to the literary marvel that she is.

Having read Babel, I was already aware of R. F. Kuang’s ability to effortlessly hold the reader’s attention. Yet, I was unprepared for the kind of ride Yellowface took me on when I finally got around to reading it.

R. F. Kuang has been receiving a lot of press in recent times, and having read her work, I can say with conviction that I know what all the noise is about!

This is one book that has you hooked right from the get-go. The author tackles complex themes like racism in an interesting manner and provides a new perspective on the age-old question of who can write what.

Yellowface is a riveting read and is one of the best books I have read this year. We absolutely love it when women!

Crying in H Mart

by Michelle Zauner

Michelle Zauner

Crying in H Mart has been part of my list ever since it came out and a friend of my being kind enough to recommend it to me was what gave me the final nudge. Fresh out of my Jennette McCurdy haze, I was more than ready to dive head first into this book and boy am I lucky to have found such great reads back to back.

Michelle Zauner is the lead singer of the pop band, Japanese Breakfast and the author of my new favourite book Crying in H Mart. The book is, yet again, a memoir written about Zauner’s relationship with her mother and her battle with the grief of losing her to cancer.

The book contains some very profound, rich and melancholic moments that are sure to unnerve you in the best of ways. This was a also special read for me because of the vivid descriptions of food from her culture and her connection to them.

Crying in H Mart ripped my heart out and stomped on it and I hope to God that it has the same effect on you too!

--

--

Vijayalakshmi Devanathan

literature, mental health, and everything in-between. They/Them.